Arsenal beat Leicester to maintain 100% start

Gabriel Jesus has scored eight goals in his past nine Premier League appearances – six for Manchester City and two for Arsenal

The impressive Gabriel Jesus scored his first Premier League goals for Arsenal as Mikel Arteta’s side beat Leicester City in an entertaining encounter at Emirates Stadium.

The Brazilian striker, signed from Manchester City in the summer, scored twice before the break and missed several chances for a hat-trick as well assisting his side’s other goals.

William Saliba’s own goal early in the second half gave Leicester hope, but Granit Xhaka struck just two minutes later to restore Arsenal’s two-goal lead.

James Maddison again reduced the arrears, only for Gabriel Martinelli to quickly made it 4-2 as the Gunners maintained their 100% start to the season.

Leicester were awarded a penalty before half-time when Jamie Vardy and Arsenal goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale collided, but the decision was overturned by referee Darren England after consulting with the video assistant referee.

After scoring, Jesus was twice thwarted by Leicester keeper Danny Ward before half-time, and the 25-year-old also hit the side-netting from close range with 10 minutes of the game to go.

More to follow.

Follow reaction to Arsenal-Leicester, plus all the other Premier League results

helpHow to play

Rate players out of 10 throughout or after the game. The rater will close 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Rating range key1 = Give it up10 = Pure perfection


  1. Squad number3Player nameTierney
  2. Squad number10Player nameSmith Rowe
  3. Squad number14Player nameNketiah
  4. Squad number18Player nameTomiyasu

Leicester City

  1. Squad number1Player nameWard

  2. Squad number3Player nameFofana

  3. Squad number6Player nameEvans

  4. Squad number18Player nameAmartey

  5. Squad number27Player nameCastagne

  6. Squad number8Player nameTielemans

  7. Squad number25Player nameNdidi

  8. Squad number22Player nameDewsbury-Hall

  9. Squad number2Player nameJustin

  10. Squad number10Player nameMaddison

  11. Squad number9Player nameVardy

  1. Squad number14Player nameIheanacho

  2. Squad number20Player nameDaka

  3. Squad number26Player namePraet



Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Ramsdale
  • 4WhiteSubstituted forTomiyasuat 75′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 12Saliba
  • 6Gabriel
  • 35ZinchenkoSubstituted forTierneyat 77′minutes
  • 5Partey
  • 34Xhaka
  • 7SakaSubstituted forSmith Roweat 84′minutes
  • 8Ødegaard
  • 11Martinelli
  • 9Gabriel JesusSubstituted forNketiahat 84′minutes


  • 3Tierney
  • 10Smith Rowe
  • 14Nketiah
  • 16Holding
  • 18Tomiyasu
  • 19Pépé
  • 23Sambi Lokonga
  • 25Elneny
  • 30Turner


Formation 3-5-1-1

  • 1Ward
  • 3FofanaBooked at 16mins
  • 6Evans
  • 18AmarteySubstituted forDakaat 63′minutes
  • 27Castagne
  • 8TielemansSubstituted forPraetat 63′minutes
  • 25Ndidi
  • 22Dewsbury-Hall
  • 2Justin
  • 10Maddison
  • 9VardySubstituted forIheanachoat 70′minutes


  • 4Söyüncü
  • 11Albrighton
  • 14Iheanacho
  • 17Pérez
  • 20Daka
  • 24Mendy
  • 26Praet
  • 31Iversen
  • 33Thomas

Darren England


Live Text

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team banner

  • Our coverage of your Premier League club is bigger and better than ever before – here’s everything you need to know to make sure you never miss a moment

BBC Sport banner footer


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles